Butternut Squash & Rosemary Risotto

Kitsunetsuki Kitchen - Squash Risotto
 This recipe is based on this BBC good food recipe, with a few small improvements (I think!). This serves 4 as small portions, or 2 greedy people with a bit left over.
You will need:
half a butternut squash, peeled and chopped into small chunks (I find butternut squash almost impossible to peel with the usual equipment so I usually go at it with a massive dangerous knife),
20g butter, or substitute (I use sunflower butter),
1 large onion, finely chopped,
300g arborio rice,
150ml white wine,
1300ml vege stock,
a splash of groundnut oil,
15g pinenuts,
a few handfuls of rocket,
4 sprigs of rosemary.
Kitsunetsuki Kitchen - Squash Risotto
Method:
1. Preheat the oven to 200C (slightly less if you don’t have a fan oven)
2. Smother the chopped squash with olive oil, or vegetable oil, and roast with three sprigs of rosemary for 30 minutes.
3. Meanwhile, fry the onion in the “butter” in a large pan on a low heat until beginning to soften.
4. Add the risotto rice, stir and leave for 2-3 minutes.
5. Add the wine and stir until completely absorbed.
6. Add 100ml of the stock, and again, stir until it’s absorbed. Repeat this until all the stock has been used up. Take the risotto off the heat.
7. When the butternut squash is done, turn the oven off and take half the pieces out (leave the rest in to keep them warm).
8. Mash the half you’ve taken out, and mix this into the risotto. Pop a lid on the risotto to keep it warm.
9. Warm a small amount of groundnut oil in a frying pan and add the pinenuts. Stir regularly until they begin to turn brown (and smell toasted!).
10. Serve the risotto with a side of rocket. Top with the other butternut squash, pinenuts, and a handful of fresh rosemary.
11. Enjoy!
Kitsunetsuki Kitchen - Squash Risotto
Comments
7 Responses to “Butternut Squash & Rosemary Risotto”
  1. Gorgeous, striking photos! We’re big fans of both butternut squash and rosemary, although I have yet to pair them together. It sounds like it’s worth trying though!

    • definitely! I chuck rosemary in with everything these days, it’s my favourite roasting flavour. `Let me know what you think if you do try it!

      • I don’t blame you! I’m thinking of planting my own rosemary soon so I don’t have to spend so much on it at the store anymore.

      • Yes–my Mum is moving house soon and she’s got a huge bush in the garden, so I’m thinking of asking her to plant me up some cuttings before she leaves! It seems silly to spend so much on something you can grow

      • That’s a great idea! Especially if her plant is already so large and healthy. If I lived any closer, I might be tempted to as your mum for a bit too! ;]

  2. This looks lush – Will hopefully make it for dins this week. Do you ever leave the skin on butternut? I do for soup and it blends up just fine. Just wondering whether I could be lazy and leave it on for the risotto? Also can you suggest another oil to use for toasting the pine nuts? I don’t want to add another bottle to the trillions I have to move house the weekend!

    • I haven’t tried leaving the skin on before but that’s only because I’m unimaginative and never thought to! I’d imagine it’d work, as it’d still be mash-able. I’ll try that next time too! I think really any oil would do the trick, groundnut oil just seems to make them super nutty for toasting (that might be a placebo affect as well). Let me know how it goes, and good luck with the move!

Leave a Reply

