Avocado Pesto

photo

Pesto is one of my all-time top foods–pine nuts, basil and garlic all come pretty high on my list of favourite flavours. Since it’s traditionally made with parmesan, I needed to find a good vegan alternative. Using avocado in pesto makes it really nice and creamy which completely makes up for the lack of cheese! In this recipe I use a mix of fresh and dried basil, partly because I think it adds a nice depth of flavour and partly because I don’t know how you’d get 30g of leaves off a basil plant without destroying it. I’d say this makes enough for one portion of pasta (or whatever you’re using it for!) but you could probably stretch it to two or keep half in the fridge for tomorrow; I’m too greedy for that!

photo (2)

You’ll need (per portion):

1 ripe avocado, pitted, peeled, sliced
1 large garlic clove
1 tsp lemon juice
1 tbsp olive or groundnut oil
30g basil: 20g fresh basil (I used a combination of ‘normal’ and greek basil), 10g dried basil
30g pine nuts (25g in pesto, 5g to top)
pinch of sea salt and black pepper

Method:

1) Heat a small amount of oil in a pan, and toast all the pine nuts. They can burn easily, so keep a close eye on them and turn the hob off when they begin to brown–they’ll continue to toast in the hot pan.
2) Put everything else in a blender, and add 4/5 of the toasted pine nuts; then blend.
3) If you’re using the pesto on pasta, mix it in and then top with the remaining pine nuts.
4) Enjoy!

photo (1)

Pictured above is a version of the recipe using only dried basil; it still tastes good, but not nearly as good as if you can get hold of some fresh stuff!

Comments
7 Responses to “Avocado Pesto”
  1. mmmm avocado – one of my favourite things incorporated into another of my favourite things – pesto! lush x

  2. gardenbre says:

    I made a little batch of pesto the other night … now I am going to add avocado to the last of it and make a zucchini pasta (I used it as the base for a pizza the night before last) thanks!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] a bit of vegan cheese to use up, so I thought I’d attempt another pesto (after discovering how amazing avocado pesto can be recently). This recipe should feed two, and you can alter the amount of spice depending on your […]

  2. […] Courgette noodles, on the other hand, retain a bit of their crunch and so go perfectly with my avocado pesto, especially topped with lots of pine […]

  3. […] I think I managed to improve it. This recipe for lemony avocado pesto is essentially the same as this one I’ve posted previously, but I thought I’d post it again with the new amounts, which are essentially: less avocado […]



Leave a Reply

