Banana (and Almond) Pancakes

Kitsunetsuki Kitchen - Banana (and Almond) Pancakes
I’ve been wanting to make banana pancakes for the last week or so, as I’ve bought a lot of reduced bananas recently and they keep turning up tucked behind books and very brown. I’m actually not much of a pancake person–I much prefer the idea of pancakes to the reality. That is, until now! I’d never tried banana pancakes before, but I am completely converted. They taste so much more interesting than ‘normal’ pancakes, and seem much easier to make vegan.
Kitsunetsuki Kitchen - Banana (and Almond) Pancakes
Anyway, I had a look at a few recipes online and this recipe from Ginger Mandy seemed a good starting point, so I made some notes and adjustments based on that. This should make 10 small pancakes–I’d say 5 would make a good hearty breakfast, but as always your portion sizes are your choice! (I won’t lie, I ate 8 this morning).
Next time I think I’ll preheat some plates by putting them in a sink of hot water, to keep the pancakes warm whilst I fry them–this time I kept an upside down bowl over them which sort of does the trick. These instructions are going to be pretty basic, as a pancake-newby a lot of these ‘tricks’ are new to me!

Kitsunetsuki Kitchen - Banana (and Almond) Pancakes
You’ll need:  

For the pancakes:

100g plain flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 tbsp light muscavado sugar
pinch of salt
1 ripe banana
1 tsp vanilla extract
200ml almond milk
oil or dairy-free butter to fry

Suggested toppings:

sliced banana
almonds
goji berries
golden syrup

Kitsunetsuki Kitchen - Banana (and Almond) Pancakes
Method:

1) Mix all the dry ingredients together; either sieve or whisk to get out any large lumps (I don’t own a sieve so whisking is the best method I’ve got!)

2) Separately mash the banana with the milk and vanilla extract, then whisk with the dry ingredients to make a smooth but thick batter.

3) Heat some oil or butter in a pan–keep on a low heat until you know what you’re doing–and use a small ladle to make little pancake-size circles, two at a time (if your pan is big enough). You may need to top up the oil a bit as you go.

4) The pancakes are ready to flip over when they begin to bubble and the edges are visibly brown underneath.

5) When all your pancakes are ready to be eaten, keep the pan on the heat and toast a handful of almonds to top.

6) Cover with whatever you like–I suggest bananas, golden syrup, toasted almonds & goji berries–and enjoy!

Kitsunetsuki Kitchen - Banana (and Almond) Pancakes

Comments
6 Responses to “Banana (and Almond) Pancakes”
  1. bepcity says:

    Beautiful pictures! Looks so delicious.

  2. saucygander says:

    These pancakes look so good! I’m not a pancake person either, but may have to give these a go. 🙂

  3. louis says:

    I’m also not a very pancake person but I’ll try this ones 🙂

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] I tried making banana pancakes for the first time the other day I have been craving them almost every morning–I have no […]



Leave a Reply

