On My Plate Lately

Yotam Ottolenghi's Sweet Potato Cakes

In the last week or so I’ve had a little burst of energy in the kitchen. I think it’s partly because I’m staying home instead of going to the library to work, so taking a few hours off in the middle of the day to make a nice lunch is less impractical! The other reason is that the sun is finally out and ingredients are starting to seem a lot fresher. As well as cutting dairy out of my diet, I’m starting to attempt to eat a lot more seasonally. Living next to a supermarket means I don’t really have to think about what time of year it is when I’m planning a meal; but I’d like to change that.

Luckily spring brings with it a lot of my favourites. I’m a big fan of spring onions and I managed to get a huge bunch today for very little–they’re an essential part of one of my favourite recipes, Ottolenghi’s sweet potato cakes, which I made for lunch today (see above photo). I’ve started snacking on radishes too, though I like them much more for their colour than their taste–pepper isn’t one of my favourite flavours! Spinach, broccoli, and new potatoes are all in season now too. When in doubt, check a website–eattheseasons.co.uk is great for those of you in the UK.

Radishes

Since I tried making banana pancakes for the first time the other day I have been craving them almost every morning–I have no idea why it’s taken me so long to discover how amazing they are! I thought I’d struggle to find an indulgent breakfast without eating some form of egg, but these pancakes have pushed that worry right out of my head. I’m thinking of starting a tradition of making them at the weekends to read with a newspaper, as I’ve usually got at least 2 brown bananas hiding behind the fruit bowl.

Don’t forget, if you’re at all interested you can follow me on instagram to see what I’m up to in the kitchen and elsewhere!

Banana Pancakes

Comments
4 Responses to “On My Plate Lately”
  1. Colette says:

    I love radishes! 🙂 Also I’m really liking your new blog, Laura! I have never thought of making banana pancakes but your photo looks so appealing that I want some now 🙂

  2. Siv Nilsen says:

    I seriously love banana pancakes, but since I’m not vegan I use a slightly different recipe (with eggs!). Have you tried them with almond butter? Sooo good!

Leave a Reply

