Chocolate and Nut Cake with Avocado Chocolate Frosting

Kitsunetsuki Kitchen - Chocolate and Nut Cake with Avocado Frosting

My housemate Joel had a birthday this week, and I decided to make him a cake. I’ve never made a vegan cake before so I was a bit nervous and wanted to go with something simple to avoid mistakes as far as possible! In the end I went for this simple chocolate cake by post punk kitchen, topped with the avocado frosting from this love and lemons recipe. The avocado frosted cupcakes have been on my pinterest to-do list for aaaages so I’m glad I finally managed to try them out! It was also the first time I used the piping syringes that my grandparents got me for Christmas and they were so much fun.
Kitsunetsuki Kitchen - Chocolate and Nut Cake with Avocado Frosting

For my first attempt at a vegan cake I thought it went really well; it got compliments from friends, at least. The texture was a bit more like a brownie than a cake, which might be partially because I chucked in a load of mixed nuts before baking to make it a bit more interesting, as well as being a bit denser because of the lack of eggs. I’d make it again though, and maybe just play around with adding more nuts and some chunks of chocolate to push the ‘brownie’ element further.

Kitsunetsuki Kitchen - Chocolate and Nut Cake with Avocado Frosting

The avocado frosting was great and I’ll definitely be making it again; it was firm enough to pipe and my friends were surprised when I told them it was made of avocado, the flavour doesn’t overpower the chocolate at all–and it’s a lot healthier than buttercream! For the topping and filling I only used 1 & 1/2 avocados as opposed to the suggested 2, as it seemed like rather a lot. It tastes a lot more like avocado when you try it without the cake too, so don’t be surprised if your initial taste tests are different from the end result.

Kitsunetsuki Kitchen - Chocolate and Nut Cake with Avocado Frosting

As the recipes are in US measurements, I made some rough translations and adjustments. Here’s what I eventually used for the cake itself (double the amounts for a double-layered cake as pictured here):

280ml almond milk
1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
170g granulated sugar
75g vegetable oil
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon almond extract

125g all-purpose flour
45g cocoa powder
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt

Kitsunetsuki Kitchen - Chocolate and Nut Cake with Avocado Frosting

Comments
7 Responses to “Chocolate and Nut Cake with Avocado Chocolate Frosting”
  1. Poppy says:

    WOW – That looks to die for!!

  2. Siv Nilsen says:

    Will have to try this! Avocado ising sounds really interesting, I love avocado and I love chocolate, so how can I not love it? 😉

  3. Mmmm that avocado frosting looks and sounds delicious! Will have to try.

    Only just got round to reading your new blog (used to follow your old one on Bloglovin’) and I’m really impressed – I’ve been slowly cutting meat out of my diet over the past few months for ethical and environmental reasons, but I’ve found myself eating much more dairy (maybe to compensate?). Looking forward to reading through all your healthy and delicious-sounding meat and dairy free recipes!

    • I’m glad you found me here! I did struggle with working out how to notify people that I’d moved to wordpress.

      I think it makes sense that you’ve replaced the meat in your diet with dairy–I can’t imagine going from meat-eating straight to veganism! Being active about your diet in any ethical way is a big step in itself so bravo you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

