Coconut & Dark Chocolate Vegan Ice-Cream

Kitsunetsuki Kitchen - Coconut and Dark Chocolate Ice Cream

We’re in the middle of a heatwave at the moment in the UK–it’s in the high twenties most days, and way too hot for a good nights sleep (those of you across the pond or in Aus will think that’s pathetic, but we’re not used to it!). As a direct result of this I’ve been craving ice-cream for weeks, and I finally got around to trying out my first homemade vegan ice-cream! I don’t have a fancy ice-cream machine so this is the ‘elbow grease’ method. It’ll make a fairly large tub, or enough for about 8 small bowls of ice-cream (that’s a complete estimate, I’ve eaten most of it straight out of the tub!). This recipe is based on this basic recipe by the hungry mouse–the main adjustment is reducing the amount of sugar and chucking in the chocolate.

Kitsunetsuki Kitchen - Coconut and Dark Chocolate Ice Cream

You’ll need:

2 cans of chilled coconut milk (keeping the cans in the fridge will make the freezing process quicker!)
with 100g light muscavado sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
60-100g dark chocolate
raw coconut shavings to top

Kitsunetsuki Kitchen - Coconut and Dark Chocolate Ice CreamMethod:

1. Blend all the ingredients, except the chocolate, together until smooth and a bit bubbly with air bubbles.

2. Plonk the mixture in the freezer in a cake or bread tin and leave for half an hour.

3. Chop up the chocolate into little chunks. The amount you put in is up to you–I say 60-100g because I bought a 100g bar and then ate nearly half of it before I’d managed to chop it up!

4. Take the mixture out of the freezer, and mix in the chunks. You’ll want to keep putting the mix in the freezer and then taking it out to churn it up briskly every 20-30 minutes, I did this a few times over the course of about two and a half hours.

5. When it’s hardened (but not rock hard!) serve it up however you like! I sprinkled a few raw coconut shavings on top as I had them lying around. The ice-cream will keep, but does get hard very quickly, and doesn’t form quite as satisfying round ice-cream balls when it’s been in the freezer overnight (I learnt this as I had some for breakfast this morning)

Kitsunetsuki Kitchen - Coconut and Dark Chocolate Ice Cream

Still tasty the next day–but not as pretty!

Kitsunetsuki Kitchen - Coconut and Dark Chocolate Ice Cream

Comments
9 Responses to “Coconut & Dark Chocolate Vegan Ice-Cream”
  1. Annie says:

    This looks lush-and not an icecream maker in sight! (I don’t have one either so this is perfect) x

  2. Annie says:

    This looks lush and not an icecream maker in sight! I don’t have one either so this is perfect x

  3. theoptionale says:

    Looks fantastic! Your Instagram brought me here – it’s impeccable.
    I’m from Aus and I swear when you paired ‘heat wave’ and ‘high twenties’ in the same sentence I burst out laughing – oh you English are too, too funny.

    • Oh thank you so much! Also–I know, we’re pathetic aren’t we? Anything above 20 and my body stops functioning properly! My housemate is from Brisbane so she’s always saying the same

  4. This looks amazing! I really can’t wait to try to make it. It’s nice to stumble upon another Brighton blogger too!

  5. Mysterymomma says:

    Sounds good. I get a mix at drbenkim.com or something like that. (a coconut powder) I mix it with stevia and 1 tsp of dr. Mercola’s vanilla protein powder to make yummy coconut milk. I add xanthan gum and 1/2 tsp. Vodka to keep it from freezing too hard when I make ice cream. I also use a vanilla bean, scraped. takes it over the top….

Leave a Reply

