Lemon Cake & Curd

Kitsunetsuki Kitchen - Lemon Cake & CurdThis weekend was my housemate Sophie’s birthday, and I wanted to make her a cake in the shape of a fried egg (she loves eggs), but, it was an egg-shaped-cake that didn’t actually contain any egg. The base was a lemon cake, topped with white icing, with a yellow yolk-shaped topping full of lemon curd, so that when you cut into it lemon curd drizzled out like yolk (I’ll put a tutorial up on how I made it if anyone would like one!). This baking adventure led me to discover some great lemon-y recipes floating around out there on the web, so I thought I’d share them with you here. I had curd left over from the birthday cake, so I made a little lemon drizzle with the same recipe halved, topped with strawberries, to use up the curd and test out my new 1lb loaf tin.

Kitsunetsuki Kitchen - Lemon Cake & Curd

The lemon cake recipe can be found here at The Ethical Chef. It’s the most cake-like vegan cake I’ve come across so far, and is really quick and easy to make. The ingredients list is short and you’ll have most of it lying around already. I’m definitely bookmarking this one to come back to and play around with!

Kitsunetsuki Kitchen - Lemon Cake & Curd

The lemon curd recipe I found here at To Happy Vegans, and it worked great. I’ve never made lemon curd before, and I don’t remember how it’s supposed to taste, but this seemed to tick all the boxes in terms of what I was expecting! My next challenge is to attempt vegan meringue and make some lemon meringue pie. I’d love to hear any other lemon curd suggestions you’ve got!

Kitsunetsuki Kitchen - Lemon Cake & Curd

Leave a Reply

