Almond Pesto(s)

Vegan - Spaghetti with Watercress and Almond Pesto (

Above is an instagram photo from a month or so ago, when I found a really delicious recipe for spaghetti with watercress and almond pesto. You can find it here, and I really recommend it if you’re a pesto/pasta/carb fan. I just halved all the amounts for a lunch for my boyfriend and I, and I thought it was really great–I don’t use watercress often, and I’m a big pesto fan as I’ve said many times! The garlic and lemon flavour is lovely and cuts out any need for parmesan. My only suggestion might be to reduce the amount of spaghetti you use; the amounts were okay for us, but then again we are both pretty greedy.

I haven’t often used almond in pesto, as I’m usually a pine-nut kinda gal. Today I wanted to use up some spinach in a pesto sauce, and remembered I still had almonds from the above recipe left over. That’s how this recipe for spinach and almond pesto (pictured below) was born! This makes quite a lot of pesto, I’d estimate enough for 2-3 bowls of pasta, depending on how hungry you are.

Spinach and Almond Pesto

You’ll need:

50g spinach,
5g fresh basil,
10g dried basil,
3 tbs olive oil,
1/4 tsp sea salt,
1 & 1/2 tsp lemon juice,
black pepper,
30g almond flakes,
1 large garlic clove, finely chopped.

Method:

1. Blend everything except the almonds and garlic, leaving a little olive oil aside.
2. Toast (lightly fry until brown) the almonds in a little olive oil in a frying pan. When they’re just beginning to brown, add the garlic, and mix until you can smell the almonds are toasted.
3. Add the garlic and almond mix to the blender and give it one final whirr.
4. Add to pasta or eat with bread!

Spinach and Almond Pesto

Comments
3 Responses to “Almond Pesto(s)”
  1. Lizzie says:

    This looks great! I’ve recently been changing my diet and your blog has helped me a lot with all these amazing vegan recipes! 🙂

    • That’s great Lizzie! Glad to hear I’ve been of service 🙂 I’ve been a bit rubbish at updating recently (since I started my PhD) but I’m hoping now things have settled down I’ll be sharing more recipes and ideas.

Leave a Reply

