Nigel Slater’s Spiced Chickpea Balls

Nigel Slater's Spiced Chickpea Balls

For days like today, when I know I want to spend an hour or so cooking but my mind is blank, I’ve got a pile of recipes cut out of newspapers and magazines stuffed into a little notebook in the kitchen. One of these recipes– which I’ve been meaning to try out ever since I saw it–is Nigel Slater’s ‘spiced chickpea balls’ from an edition of the Observer that focussed on cheap-but-healthy food. You can see it in its entirety here, and try it out if you like the sound of it. Below are some of my suggested amendments. It’s a dish worth making purely for the smell of the toasted chickpeas, in my opinion!

Nigel Slater's Spiced Chickpea Balls

Nigel Slater's Spiced Chickpea Balls

Some amendments: I replaced the suggested yogurt with soya yogurt, which I think works just as well for dressings like this. I  replaced the zest with lemon zest simply because we happened to have some spare lemons lying around.  Unfortunately in my area it’s bizarrely difficult to get hold of pinto beans, so I just used cannellini, which I regret–if you can’t get hold of pinto, use borlotti for a bit more flavour. I’d definitely recommend you put in significantly more than ‘a pinch’ of chilli if you want it to have a nice kick (I went for 1/4 tsp and that wasn’t nearly enough). Use your own judgement, but don’t be shy–I think the point of the yogurt sauce should be to cool down the chickpea balls, as well as for a bit of moisture! Along with the yogurt dressing, a rocket salad and couscous bulk the dish up nicely. One final suggestion: you’ll probably want to blend the pea and bean mixture with a hand-blender a bit as well as mashing it, I found it almost impossible to get a ‘coarse purée’ just from mashing.

Nigel Slater's Spiced Chickpea Balls

 

Comments
4 Responses to “Nigel Slater’s Spiced Chickpea Balls”
  1. bepcity says:

    This looks delicious and thanks for sharing that article. Just the inspiration I was looking for!

  2. Laura says:

    This looks delicious – I’m saving this recipe for the next time I need a little inspiration to!

Leave a Reply

