Adventures in Baking Vegan Doughnuts, Part 1: Recipe Testing

Adventures in Vegan Doughnut Baking

I’m ashamed to say it’s been well over a month since I last posted: oops! In my defense, I’ve got a few things in the pipeworks, but they all require lots of testing and general time-consuming messing about. For my first post in March–in lieu of any recipes of my own–here’s a post of other people’s recipes that I’ve been exploring. Also: the calendar shown in the image above is by Rifle Paper Co., and it’s beautiful.

I’ve always been a big doughnut fan, mostly because I think doughnuts are a very attractive food: they’ve got that cartoon look about them that probably derives mostly from The Simpsons. It might sound strange, but I love associations between animation and food–I remember thinking that Miffy looked like she was made of icing, and I found that idea very appealing too. Anyway, when I realised I could make my own doughnuts without having to invest in a terrifying deep-frying mechanism–by getting hold of a Wilton doughnut pan and baking them–I immediately ordered one and set about finding some suitable vegan doughnut recipes.

Here’s a rundown of the three recipes I’ve tried so far, with links to where I found them and amounts translated into UK-friendly measurements. For instructions and US measurements, follow the links! In two cases I topped them with some freeze-dried raspberries as an alternative decoration to sugar or chocolate sprinkles.

Adventures in Baking Vegan Doughnuts

This recipe for ‘easy baked doughnuts’ was the first that I tried, and I must admit I was disappointed. They did taste really nice, very much like a sweet cake–the cinnamon and apple are really great together–but they were so dense, which seems the exact opposite of what you’d want from a doughnut. I’m not sure if I went wrong somewhere in translating the amounts from cups into grams, but it didn’t seem worth a third try (I followed it to the letter once, then adjusted some things to make it a bit sweeter and try to get it to rise a bit more). I do like the idea of working apple-sauce in as a binder though, so I’ll go back to that in the future. For posterity’s sake, here’s the translated recipe (it might work better for you!).

Dry ingredients
125g plain flour
1 tsp baking powder
pinch of salt
1/4 tsp cinnamon

Wet ingredients
100ml soy milk
1/2 tsp cider vinegar
1.2 tsp vanilla extract
2 tbs (30ml) apple-sauce
2 tbs (30ml) coconut oil
2 tbs (30ml) agave nectar
2 tbs (30ml) golden syrup

Adventures in Baking Vegan Doughnuts

This second attempt was a lot more successful. For this I used a recipe from Zainab at La Gallette that I’d spotted when she posted about it on instagram. The most appealing thing about this recipe is that it doesn’t require too many ingredients that wouldn’t already be in your cupboard, and the addition of the chickpeas means you can kid yourself into thinking you’re being healthy! Zainab’s recipe is for 12 mini caramel doughnuts and is in US measurements again, so I did a bit of translating to turn it into the following recipe for 6. I also changed the icing purely based on what was in the house and what I was in the mood for, but I really recommend giving her pistachio topping a try, it looks delicious! Claire of She’s Called Claire has posted a delicious-looking chocolate and orange version of this recipe, which is also gluten free.

For the doughnuts:
190g plain flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda/bicarbonate of soda
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp salt
65g light brown muscovado sugar
2 tbsp veg oil
125ml cup soya milk
75g chickpeas
2 tsp vanilla extract

for the glaze:
100g icing sugar (unrefined)
1/4 vanilla extract
2 tsp water

Vegan Lemon Doughnuts

Third try: these vegan lemon doughnuts by Lisa at Je suis alimentageuse. I’ve never tried baking with flaxseed meal before so this was a bit of an adventure, and the result was pretty near-perfect. My friend Kat who has tried all three said this was her favourite, and I think the tangy lemon flavour worked very well, but overall they were a little too chewy for me. I’ll definitely be using a lot of the elements in Lisa’s recipe when I come to devise my own doughnuts, though. Here are the translated amounts (oven at 180C):

For the doughnuts:
125g plain flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
50ml agave nectar
2 tsp flaxseed meal
1 tbsp water
zest of 1 lemon
125ml rice/almond/soy milk
55g vegan margarine

For the glaze:
160g icing sugar (unrefined)
juice of 1 lemon (approx 6 tsp)
1 tsp water

Adventures in Baking Vegan Doughnuts

Comments
3 Responses to “Adventures in Baking Vegan Doughnuts, Part 1: Recipe Testing”
  1. I’ve always wanted to make my own doughnuts, and I too have been on the search for that Wilton doughnut pan!! Baking with flaxseed is amazing and I loooove Lisa and her blog! Such a great post, thanks for sharing your thoughts! 🙂 I’ll definitely keep this info in mind for when I finally try to make some! Hah 😉

    • Thanks for reading–I’ll keep an eye out for a doughnut post on PoP! Also, if you can recommend any other great recipes that use flaxseed I’d love to try more out–and now I’ve got a HUGE bag to get through! 😉

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] my last post on baking vegan doughnuts, I tried out three different recipes, and decided that I wanted to make something somewhere between […]



Leave a Reply

