Cauliflower Mash

Cauliflower Mash - Kitsunetsuki Kitchen

Cauliflower mash is my new favourite thing. As much as I love potatoes (and I really love potatoes) I know it’s not good for me to eat them as much as I do. Luckily, it turns out cauliflower mash is almost identical to normal mash, and is a lot healthier. It seems somehow obvious that cauliflower is better for you than potato, as people are loath to deem potato a ‘real’ vegetable, but here are some actual-real-factual comparisons per 150g if you’re not convinced (since that’s the amount of cauliflower I’ll use in the recipe below): calories: potato = 123kcal; cauliflower = 34kcal, fat: potato = 0.3g; cauliflower = 0.7g, sodium: potato = 15mg; cauliflower = 363mg, potassium: potato = 610.5mg; cauliflower = 213mg, carbs: potato = 25.8g; cauliflower = 6.2g, fibre: potato = 1.9g, cauliflower = 4.1g, protein: potato = 3.1g; cauliflower = 2.8g, vitamin A: potato = 0%; cauliflower = 0.4%, vitamin C: potato = 49.5%; cauliflower = 110.7%, calcium: potato = 1.5%; cauliflower = 2.4%, iron: potato = 4.5%; cauliflower = 2.7%. So, cauliflower has less carbohydrate, potassium, protein and iron content, but more fat, sodium, fibre, vitamin A, vitamin C, and calcium. All this basically means is you can eat a huge portion of cauliflower mash and on-the-whole it will still be better for you than a normal portion of normal mash.

To make up for the very slight loss in protein and iron, you could serve your cauliflower mash as I have above: with veggie sausages and a ton of steamed green veg. These sides go great with the cauliflower mustard mash I made using the recipe below. I think cauliflower mash could be great used as a topping for shepherd’s pie, or blended with roasted garlic and tahini instead of mustard–below is an example of a tahini-based cauliflower mustard served with a big pile of pesto-smothered vegetables. A whole world of alternative mash lies ahead!

Cauliflower Mustard Mash – serves 1.

Steam 150g cauliflower florets. When soft enough than you can slide a knife through them easily, pop them in a blender with 40-50ml almond milk (or plant-based milk of your choice), 1/4 tsp salt, and 2 tsp wholegrain mustard. Blend until smooth, and serve topped with black pepper.

Cauliflower Mash - Kitsunetsuki Kitchen

Comments
4 Responses to “Cauliflower Mash”
  1. This looks delicious! I’ve been wanting to try out mashed cauliflower. I like how you out mustard with it. Kudos!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] a few years ago). Last week my potato-streak finally broke and I felt I had to replace potato with cauliflower mash, to give my body a bit of a potato-break. After a few days away, I’m ready to return to my […]

  2. […] may have noticed I’ve been having a bit of a cauliflower phase recently–I’ve had cauliflower mash with bangers, and cauliflower rice with curry several times a week in the last month, and today I thought: […]



Leave a Reply

