Herby Spring Potato Salad

Vegan Jersey Royal Spring Salad recipe at Kitsunetsuki Kitchen

I feel like I’ve been going on and on and on about potatoes recently. Potatoes, potatoes, potatoes. I’ve been eating potato farls for breakfast and spicy potato wedges with friends, and have been thinking a lot about attempting to make gnocchi from scratch again (I failed drastically when I tried a few years ago). I even ended up talking about the versatility of potatoes with my PhD supervisor in a supervision last week. Then my potato-streak finally broke and I felt I had to replace potato with cauliflower mash, to give my body a bit of a potato-break. After a few days away, I’m ready to return to my beloved. As today was a beautiful sunny spring Sunday, the only thing I wanted for lunch was an oily, herby potato salad with lots of fresh veg. Here, then, is my recipe for the perfect herby spring potato salad, based very roughly on Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall’s new potato ‘tartare’ salad from Veg Every Day.

Vegan Jersey Royal Spring Salad recipe at Kitsunetsuki Kitchen

You’ll need (this serves 2 as a main, 4-6 as a side salad)

200g fine green beans,
500g baby jersey royal potatoes,
100-150g garden peas,
1 tbs chives, (I used dried chives, because I’m terrible at keeping a multitude of herbs fresh/alive)
1 tbs parsley, (see above)
a handful of fresh dill,
1/4 tsp salt,
1/2 tbs cider vinegar,
1 & 1/2 tbs rapeseed oil
1 tsp wholegrain mustard
a handful (7-10) radishes
black pepper
optional: a big dollop of (vegan) butter

Vegan Jersey Royal Spring Salad recipe at Kitsunetsuki Kitchen

Method:

1) Halve and boil the 500g baby jersey royal potatoes for 10-15 minutes.

2) Make the herb and oil sauce. In a small jar or bowl, mix 1tbs chives, 1 tbs parsley, 1/4 tsp salt, 1/2 tbs cider vinegar, 1 & 1/2 tbs rapeseed oil, 1 tsp wholegrain mustard. Chop 7-10 radishes into discs, and separate out some ‘bits’ of dill (are they fronds? leaves? I’ve no idea what to call them!).

2) When the potatoes have been in for about 10 minutes, trim and steam 200g fine green beans, for around 5 minutes. Steam the peas in with the beans.

5) When the potatoes, peas and beans are cooked, drain them and put them all in one of the warm-but-empty pans. Drizzle the herb mix over, and mix in. Add half the radishes and dill, and mix again. At this point you can either add a big dollop of (vegan) butter, or go for the healthy-but-dull option and leave it out.

6) Serve up: top with a generous sprinkling of black pepper and the remaining radishes and dill. Enjoy!

Vegan Jersey Royal Spring Salad recipe at Kitsunetsuki Kitchen

Comments
4 Responses to “Herby Spring Potato Salad”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] 5.春草馬鈴薯 Salad 大概每個廚師都有一個引以自豪的用土豆作為主食材的 Salad,你也可以!新鮮的春季蔬菜,搭配上土豆,誰都不可否認,它充滿了十足的春天的感覺!詳細食譜在這裡 […]

  2. […] 5. 春草马铃薯沙拉 大概每个厨师都有一个引以自豪的用土豆作为主食材的沙拉,你也可以!新鲜的春季蔬菜,搭配上土豆,谁都不可否认,它充满了十足的春天的感觉!详细菜谱在这里 […]

  3. […] Recipe:  Loaded Twice Baked Potatoes, Pan Fried Red Potatoes, Herby Spring Potato Salad […]

  4. […] Ok, green beans are NOT spring-y, but red radishes are. // here // […]



Leave a Reply

