Simple Sunday Potato Farls

Vegan Potato Farls

I can’t remember the first time I ate potato farls, but I think they’re the kind of food that reminds you of childhood even if you’ve never had them before–they’re just that comforting. I recently realised how ridiculous it is to buy them, as they’re so easy to make from scratch and much, much cheaper. This recipe is based on one by Miss South I found ages ago in one of the cheap-food editions of the Observer food monthly, which you can find here–it’s almost exactly the same but I’ve cut it down to one portion and replaced the butter with a vegan oil-based butter. These amounts make about 500cal worth of farls, so it’s a big breakfast–as Miss Smith says, you can freeze the farls you don’t use.

Vegan Potato Farls

Obviously, you don’t have to eat these on a Sunday; they just feel lunch a Sunday brunch kinda food to me. This is a great recipe to remember if you tend to make too much mash (this has never happened to me because I have a second stomach just for mash, in this household ‘leftover mashed potato’ is an oxymoron).

Vegan Potato Farls

Very simply: boil and then mash 250g potatoes (roughly 2 med-small potatoes by my calculations) with 25g vegan butter (add a pinch of salt here if the butter is unsalted). Let cool, then mix in 50g plain flour. On a floured surface, roll out the dough flat but thick, and cut into farls. Fry 3-4 at a time in a splash of vegetable oil.  I like them just topped with sea salt and black pepper, but they’re also great with a splodge of baked beans (or a poached egg, if you’re not vegan).

Vegan Potato Farls
Vegan Potato Farls
Vegan Potato Farls
Vegan Potato Farls

This post is an entry for #FluffyMarisPiper Linky Challenge sponsored by Potato Council. Learn more at bit.ly/18rWnaB

Comments
7 Responses to “Simple Sunday Potato Farls”
  1. cloudthyme says:

    These look wonderful! Never tried them- thanks for sharing!

  2. I love potato so these are perfect, especially as I’m always on the look out for a more “fun” weekend breakfast. Saving this for sunday 🙂

  3. I think my children would enjoy eating these and also helping me make them. Commenting for myself and on behalf of BritMums and thanking you for taking part

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] never really been one to make my own chips, of any kind. I’m more of a mashed potato or potato farl kinda gal. I’m not sure what brought on the sudden desire to make potato wedges that […]

  2. […] on and on and on about potatoes recently. Potatoes, potatoes, potatoes. I’ve been eating potato farls for breakfast and spicy potato wedges with friends, and have been thinking a lot about attempting […]



Leave a Reply

