Yotam Ottolenghi’s Butternut Squash and Tahini Spread

Butternut Squash and Tahini Spread

I have a little folder of recipes I’ve torn out of food magazines and newspapers that’s been sitting tucked at the back of a shelf ever since we moved into the new house, and last weekend I decided it was finally time to test some of them out.

The first one I picked out was a butternut squash and tahini spread recipe by Yotam Ottolenghi, from the Guardian in September 2011 – so it’s been waiting over three years! You can find it here at the guardian website, alongside a recipe for batata harra (a spicy potato dish) which sounds amazing and might have to be next on my list. The guardian is a great source for Ottolenghi recipes if you don’t want to fork out for a book, but I’ve heard lots of good things about his most recent release Plenty More.

The recipe is almost vegan, and as per usual with Ottolenghi it’s easy to adjust–I just used soya yogurt in place of his Greek yogurt. I also used agave syrup in place of date syrup just ‘cos it’s what I had and it worked really well. The real star of this dish is the cinnamon though – I’d never have thought cinnamon and butternut squash would go so well in a houmous-style spread!

Butternut Squash and Tahini Spread

Butternut Squash and Tahini Spread

Comments
One Response to “Yotam Ottolenghi’s Butternut Squash and Tahini Spread”

Leave a Reply

