Beetroot Pesto

Kitsunetsuki Kitchen - Beetroot Pesto

Something I’ve discovered is that if you take a form of food that you already love, and then add beetroot, it will generally turn out great. This doesn’t work for everything, but it does work for houmous, and for pesto. Pasta in beetroot pesto also looks fantastic, and I can imagine it would go down well with children! I hated beetroot as a child (or, I hated the idea of beetroot) but I can imagine if I was served up some bright pink pasta I would’ve loved it. With regards to the choice of pasta, I would stick with thick, flat pasta to go with this pesto, like tagliatelle or pappardelle, as when I’ve served it with normal spaghetti it comes out looking a little too much like minced meat.

Kitsunetsuki Kitchen - Beetroot Pesto

I’ve tried this recipe a couple of times and I think the lemon zest is pretty essential, but as always feel free to play around with quantities. You might like to swap some of the olive oil for water, or add more. I tend to boil my beetroot as soon as it arrives in my vegbox (in plenty of water, for 45-60mins) and then chop it up and keep it in the fridge so it’s ready for use whenever I need it. I’m sure roasted beetroot would add a lovely flavour too – let me know if you try that method! 60g of nuts can be expensive if you’re using all pine nuts, so I used 15g pine nuts alongside 45g cheaper mixed chopped nuts–the more pine nuts the better though! To toast I just heat in a dry frying pan for a few minutes on a low heat, stirring to make sure they don’t burn. Then, just blend the following and you’re good to go. The below will make around 250g of pesto.

Blend:

140g cooked beetroot
15g fresh basil
60g toasted nuts
1 large garlic clove, minced
4 tbsp olive oil
zest of a small lemon/half a large lemon
2 tsp lemon juice
1/2 tbsp dry basil
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 tbsp nutritional yeast (optional)

Kitsunetsuki Kitchen - Beetroot Pesto

Comments
One Response to “Beetroot Pesto”

Leave a Reply

